top of page
  • Immagine del redattoreSara

December BRIMOODBOARD

Hi crafty friends, Merry Christmas everyone!

Today it’s my turn on the Butterfly Reflection Ink blog and I’m here to show my inspiration for the December BRI Mood Board.


This is a perfect palette for Winter cards, I really love those cold colors mixed with silver. But since today it’s THAT day, the most important of the Holiday Season, I wanted to create a Christmas card. And this is my inspiration!

I must admit I recently saw a bokeh patterned paper that was my inspiration for this card. So I couldn’t resist to create my own version, using the colors of the Mood Board. I used blending brushes and Distress Oxide Inks in Black Soot, Chipped Sapphire, Tumbled Glass, Pine Needles and Shabby Shutters. I applied a layer of colors, with a really soft hand. I then used some nesting dies to create circles with masking paper and I applied a few, added another layer of color (image 1) and then I added other circles (image 2: some of them overlap). I repeated the process until I was happy with the effect.

I then took the Pretty Pink Posh Layered Bokeh Stencil and I removed some color using a wet wipe (image 3) and I splattered some water to create small drops. The fourth image shows you the final background when all the masking paper was removed. To complete the background, I die cut it using the largest of the Trinity Stamps Modern Embossed Rectangle.


When the background was done, I started working on the images and the layout of the card. I stamped some of the ornaments from the Sunny Studio Stamps “Deck the Halls” and I colored them using copic markers. I then die cut them using coordinating dies.

I also die cut three times the Pretty Pink Posh “Merry Christmas Script” die to create dimension to my sentiment.

For the pine branches I used a Hello Bluebird “Holly and Pine” dies, but you can skip this passage. I just wanted to add some silver shine, so I die cut the branches from some Silver Glittery Cardstock and some vellum paper.

I glued everything down using a combination of foam tape and liquid glue, in order to create dimension. I also added some blue and white twine to “attach” the ornaments.

As a finishing touch, I added some Silver Diamonds here and there, they really catch the light and I matted the whole scene using a larger piece of white paper.


And now, since it is my last project of the year, I just want to thank you all for the support. I really hope to have inspired you playing with the mood boards, I hope you will like this project too! Thanks so much Vanessa for giving me this opportunity!

I wish you and your families a wonderful Holiday Season and all the best for the upcoming year. Merry Christmas everyone!


Hugs from Italy,


Post recenti

Mostra tutti
bottom of page