top of page
  • Immagine del redattoreSara

MFT Stamps | Vault Release Countdown - Day 2


Hi friends and welcome back to another June MFT Vault Release countdown!

I know many of you were sad to read that the Birdie Brown line has discontinued, but I think we all were so excited to hear that the whole Birdie Brown line will be re-released during this one and the following valut releases too.

The Vault has opened and those are the sets that are featured in the DT creations today:

  • Birthday Bears Stamp Set

  • Birthday Bears Die-namics

  • Birthday Chicks Stamp Set

  • Birthday Chicks Die-namics

  • Penguins in Paradise Stamp Set

  • Penguins in Paradise Die-namics


The Vault release will include 14 stamp sets and will be available on Tuesday, 22nd, at 10am.


And this is my inspiration, that features Penguins in Paradise stamp set.

I love those penguins so much! They really make me smile every single time I look at them!

I had the idea to create a surfing scene, as those critters are enjoying a small vacation. I firstly stamped the penguin with the icicle (being sure not to apply ink on the icicle) at the centre of my Transotype Perfect Coloring paper and I drew the surfin' table. When I do copic colored scenes, I usually start from the background, and I usually color on a larger piece. I searched some surfin' waves references on the net and I started applying ink. For background like this, it is important to have brush nibs, because the result is really better. I started from lighter colors, creating this semi-round wave, and then added many layers of colors using darker ones. I then used a mid-tone to create the ocean horizon and a very light blue for the sky.


After coloring the penguin, his adorable swimsuit and the surfin' table, I wasn't satisfied because the wave didn't look realistic at all. I needed to add the white foam, and I thought I could have used many dots with the white gel pen. But then, I tried some Copic Opaque White with sponge daubers: the result was exactly what I wanted! I added some foam at the top of the wave and behind the surfin' table...and the scene completely transformed.


To complete the card, I stamped the sentiment with some Versafine Onyx Black ink and cut the panel to 4,5"x4,5", then matted the scene twice, using two larger pieces of Smooth White and Black Licorice cardstock. Hope you like the final result!


Be sure to check the MFT Blog to see all the others DT inspiration and comment there for a chance to win a 25$ shopping spree!


Hugs from Italy,



 

Copic color combos

Penguin: T10 - T8 - T6 - T5 | E50 - E000 | RV34 - R11

Penguin's suit: BG23 - BG11 - BG10 | YG25 - R22 - E17

Surf table: R17 - R14 - R12 - R89

Ocean wave: B00 - BG01 - BG53 - BG57 - B52 - B95 - B97

Sky: B41


123 visualizzazioni6 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti
bottom of page